Parents Helping Parents of Wyoming State Parenting Center

LiEnisa Martinez- Parent Educator- Powell and Cody Region

LiEnisa Martinez- Parent Educator- Powell and Cody Region

There are a couple of different ways to look at this question… I looked at it and saw “Why DO I work with young children?” I wish the answer were simple, but like young children, it is complicated and kind of all over the place!

Over the last fifteen and a half years I have been in the early childhood education field at every level. I have run my own home daycare, been a Pre-K teacher, a supervisor, a trainer, and a center director.  But what has kept me in this challenging career field? THE CHILDREN! Watching them grow and develop into little individuals is the most rewarding benefit any job could offer.

On an average day as a center director I dealt with staff call-outs, budget issues, parent concerns, and a whole host of other frustrations.  A quick walk into a toddler room to watch those little guys concentrate as they explored in the rice table or hearing them laugh and squeal as they tried to catch and  pop bubbles would make all the frustration disappear. 

As a PAT Parent Educator, I have found the perfect balance of administrative duties and child interaction. I enjoy teaching parents the best practices to enhance and understand their children’s developmental stages. It is overwhelmingly gratifying to know that I have helped a family and improved that child’s chances of being understood, enjoyed, loved, and appreciated by their parents.  There is no greater joy than knowing that a child has benefited from the work I do.

So the answer, almost 16 years later, remains the same: I work with young children because I get the privilege of teaching them during their most vital developmental years!

-LiEnisa Martinez

Comments on: "Why Do I Work With Young Children?" (6)

  1. Jennifer said:

    Working with children is so important, but it really takes someone with a certain patience and personality to do a good job. It is great that you have this ability and are willing to share it with others.

  2. I think we find the true definition of our lives when we are who we protect. This, of course, doesn’t mean you are a child, but it does mean that you are infinitely aware of your influence on children and that one little thing that you do or say that really resonates with them, may be passed on for generations. For example, one woman recounted a story when she was intitutionalized as a youth for mental illness and a woman came by her room and asked, “How are you child? Is there anything I can do to help you?” That woman that took the time to speak to her was the custodian. No staff had ever asked her that question. Now that the used-to-be-young in-patient has a PhD, and speaks to large audiences, that’s the story she recounts, not the years in therapy – the story of the woman who asked how she was feeling. Remarkable, the footprints we leave on souls, without even realising it.
    Well done.
    ~100 years from now….it will not matter what my bank account was, ….the sort of house I lived in, or even the car I drove……but the world may be different because I was important in the life of a CHILD.~

  3. Blanca Moye said:

    There is nothing else to be said just: It’s great to be a PAT Parent Educator.

  4. Erin Swilling said:

    Wonderfully said LiEnisa! It’s a honor and a privelege to experience life through the eyes of a child. To help provide new experiences and support their growth is a great reward to our job.

  5. Samantha said:

    I love the way you expressed the joys of this career!

  6. Tammy said:

    Wow! Nice, LiEnisa. Not much too add except that you are right it is great to be around children and watch them grow and explore. Tammy

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

